CHURCH / HOLY GROUND / INDEPENDENT BAPTIST CHURCHES / PULPIT / sermon / Uncategorized

Matthew 16:18 – a sermon

The following is a sermon. The Text verse is from Matthew 16:18. In that verse Jesus said
I will build MY Church
that is what this sermon is about. However, there are at least three more thoughts to it.
1 and 2] That thou art Peter, and upon this rock I will build my Church
What is the Church? and who is the rock?
3] the gates of hell shall not prevail against it.

I am using I WILL BUILD MY CHURCH;
because that is what I preached on Valentines Sunday.

As always Bible verses are in BLUE

Turn to Mat 16:13-18

MY TEXT IS taken from Mat 16:18
And I say also unto thee, That thou art Peter, and upon this rock
I WILL BUILD MY CHURCH;
and the gates of hell shall not prevail against it.

LATE LAST SUMMER
While all alone in this Church
I STOOD BEHIND THIS PULPIT
and I got to thinking
[Describe it]
this pulpit is old
it has influenced so many people

This pulpit is very Old – yet it is as solid as ever

And that got me to remember a time when I heard
JACK HYLES preach

TODAY brother Hyles is in heaven

Brother Hyles preached from a music stand
When he was done
He had beaten that music stand to a pulp
That music stand was destroyed

YOU WONT DESTROY THIS PULPIT
JACK HYLES COULD
BEAT ON THIS PULPIT
ALL DAY LONG
AND
HE WOULD NOT EVEN DENT IT

THE PULPIT IS A HOLY PLACE
THIS PULPIT IS A HOLY PLACE
by HOLY I mean
THAT THE PULPIT
IS SEPARATED FOR GOD’S USE.

I WILL BE SPEAKING ABOUT THIS PULPIT
BUT UNDERSTAND
IT IS WHAT HAPPENS FROM THIS PULPIT
IT IS THE PREACHING THAT GOD BLESSES

PREACHING IS THE DIADEM OF WORSHIP

IN EXODUS 3 we read about
THE BURNING BUSH

God said, Moses, put off thy shoes from off thy feet, for THE PLACE WHEREON THOU STANDEST IS HOLY GROUND.” EXODUS 3:5

Moses COULD HAVE asked God,
“WHY IS THIS GROUND SO HOLY.
IT JUST LOOKS LIKE DIRT TO ME?”
And
If Moses asked god that question
which he didn’t
but if he had
GOD COULD HAVE ANSWERED
“Moses,
IT IS HOLY GROUND BECAUSE I SAY IT IS HOLY GROUND.”

THIS PULPIT IS ON HOLY GROUND

JESUS SAID,
I WILL BUILD MY CHURCH;

THOSE WHO USE THE PULPIT FOR THEIR OWN GLORY
WILL ONE DAY BE FILLED WITH TERROR AT THE JUDGMENT.

I DO NOT BELIEVE
ANYONE HAS EVER STOOD BEHIND
THIS PULPIT
TO ENHANCE THEIR OWN GLORY
BUT TODAY – ALL ACROSS AMERICA
THERE ARE A LOT OF ELMER GANTRY’S

If a Balaam preaches a message that God can bless – then HE will
GOD BLESSES THE PREACHING
AND NOT NECESSARILY THE PREACHER

2Co 5:11A Knowing therefore the TERROR OF THE LORD, we persuade men;

Heb 10:30B -31 , THE LORD SHALL JUDGE HIS PEOPLE.
Heb 10:31 IT IS A FEARFUL THING TO FALL INTO THE HANDS OF THE LIVING GOD.

This pulpit is NOT ONLY A HOLY PLACE
THIS PULPIT IS A POWERFUL PLACE
IT IS WHERE LIVES ARE CHANGED
IT IS A PLACE THAT IGNITES HOPE

AS I STOOD BEHIND THIS PULPIT
that was my thinking

AND THEN I THOUGHT
HOW MANY LIVES HAVE BEEN CHANGED.
RIGHT HERE IN THIS CHURCH

CHURCH IS SERIOUS BUSINESS
SATAN HATES
GREENBUSH COMMUNITY BAPTIST CHURCH
AND HE WILL DO ALL HE CAN
TO DESTROY IT
HE WILL DO ALL HE CAN
TO MAKE YOU APATHETIC TOWARDS IT

GREENBUSH COMMUNITY BAPTIST church
has been preaching the whole counsel of God For over 70 years

THEN AS I STOOD BEHIND THIS PULPIT
I GOT TO THINKING
THIS IS
AN
ULTRA SERIOUS THOUGHT

IN THE HISTORY OF THIS CHURCH
From the first sermon preached here
Right on up to tonight

How many lives were NOT changed
HOW MANY PEOPLE ARE IN HELL TODAY?
BECAUSE Just when the Holy Spirit
began to convict a heart
OF SIN, RIGHTEOUSNESS, AND JUDGMENT

THE DEVIL’S DEMONS CAUSED A DISTRACTION

1] someone gets up to leave – THAT’S A DISTRACTION
2] a child cries – THAT’S A DISTRACTION
3] someone’s phone goes off – THAT’S A DISTRACTION
4] children sit up front then play around
and People get distracted

I BELIEVE THAT LUCIFER ASSIGNS DEMONS
TO EVERY CHURCH
THAT JESUS IS BUILDING

THAT IS ONE REASON PETER WARNS US
1Pe 5:8
BE SOBER, BE VIGILANT; BECAUSE YOUR ADVERSARY THE DEVIL, AS A ROARING LION, WALKETH ABOUT, SEEKING WHOM HE MAY DEVOUR:

THE DEVIL USES DISTRACTIONS
TO HINDER
the UNSAVED LISTENER from GETTING the spiritual message that would change that persons life – FOREVER

2Co 4:3-4
But if our gospel be hid, it is hid to them that are lost:
2Co 4:4 In whom the god of this world hath blinded the minds of them which believe not, lest the light of the glorious gospel of Christ, who is the image of God, should shine unto them.

SOMETIMES WE GET COMPLACENT
SOMETIMES WE FORGET THAT
WE ARE IN A WAR
GOOD VERSES EVIL

SOMETIMES WE GET COMPLACENT
SOMETIMES WE FORGET THAT
THE STAKES ARE
HEAVEN AND HELL

CHURCH IS SERIOUS BUSINESS
THERE IS NOTHING
MORE IMPORTANT
THEN THIS PULPIT

THE PULPIT IS WHAT
JESUS IS USING TO BUILD HIS CHURCH

THE PULPIT IS
THE SYMBOL OF GOD’S GOVERNMENT

THIS PULPIT IS A
GIFT OF GOD
TO GREENBUSH AND OSCODA
1Ti 3:15
But if I tarry long, that thou mayest know how thou oughtest to behave thyself IN THE HOUSE OF GOD, WHICH IS THE CHURCH OF THE LIVING GOD, the pillar and ground of the truth.

CHURCH IS SERIOUS BUSINESS
BECAUSE
PREACHING CHANGES LIVES

GOD HAS CHOSEN THE FOOLISHNESS OF PREACHING
TO BUILD HIS CHURCH

1st Corinthians 1:18
For THE PREACHING OF THE CROSS IS TO THEM THAT PERISH FOOLISHNESS; but unto us which are saved it is the POWER OF GOD.

WHEN SOMEONE IS STANDING BEHIND THIS PULPIT, there is nothing
MORE IMPORTANT
there is ABSOLUTELY NOTHING
MORE IMPORTANT THEN THIS PULPIT
that includes; brain surgery,
heart transplants,
the 2016 presidential elections,
YOUR DINNER, TV SPORTS, YOUR COMPANY, AND
YOUR AFTER NOON NAP TIME

In a Catholic confessional
The CONFESSOR TELLS all

Let me do that now

IN CHURCH
Sometimes I get SLEEPY
IN CHURCH
Sometimes I get DISTRACTED
IN CHURCH
Sometimes My MIND STRAYS
BUT
WHEN ANY OR ALL of THAT HAPPENS
NOBODY  KNOWS

I AM SITTING UP straight
I AM LEANING FORWARD
as though every word
THAT IS PREACHED FROM THIS PULPIT
is as IMPORTANT
AS THE WORDS
JESUS SAID FROM THE CROSS.

ARE YOU THINKING-
WHY LARRY THAT’S HYPOCRITICAL.
WELL, what should I do?
Bring a pillow with me,
and leave my Bible at home.

THAT IS NOT HYPOCRITICAL
THAT’S BEING CHRIST’S AMBASSADOR
Mat 26:41B
the spirit indeed is willing, but the flesh is weak.

Rom 7:18
For I know that in me (that is, in my flesh,) dwelleth no good thing: for to will is present with me; but how to perform that which is good I find not.

I AM an AMBASSADOR of JESUS JEHOVAH

and SO ARE YOU

2Co 5:20A
NOW THEN WE ARE AMBASSADORS FOR CHRIST,

WE
ARE Christ’s ambassador

BEING AN AMBASSADOR
IS SERIOUS BUSINESS

SOMETIMES
I DO NOT WANT TO GO TO CHURCH
I AM JUST BEING HONEST
BUT I GO TO CHURCH BECAUSE
I AM JEHOVAH JESUS’ AMBASSADOR
I GO TO CHURCH BECAUSE
JESUS WANTS ME TO GO TO CHURCH

I ACT IN CHURCH THE WAY
I THINK AN AMBASSADOR SHOULD ACT

HERE IS ANOTHER THOUGHT

WE SHOULD ALL BE ADDICTED to Church

1Co 16:15
I beseech you, brethren, (ye know the house of Stephanas, that it is the firstfruits of Achaia, and that THEY HAVE ADDICTED THEMSELVES TO THE MINISTRY OF THE SAINTS,)

WE SHOULD BE ADDICTED TO THIS PULPIT

THERE IS NOTHING MORE IMPORTANT THEN PREACHING

1Co 1:21
For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe.

THE PULPIT HAS REPLACED THE SHEKINAH GLORY OF THE OLD TESTAMENT TABERNACLE

HERE IS SOMETHING TO THINK ABOUT
THE WAY YOU FEEL ABOUT SUPPORTING CHURCH
THE WAY YOU FEEL ABOUT ATTENDING CHURCH
THAT IS THE WAY YOU FEEL ABOUT GOD.

JESUS SAID I WILL BUILD MY CHURCH

JESUS IS THE BUILDER OF
INDEPENDENT, KING JAMES BIBLE BELIEVING, BIBLE PREACHING CHURCHES

AND TO ACCOMPLISH THAT
JEHOVAH JESUS
GIVES HIS CHILDREN
SPIRITUAL GIFTS
GOD GIVES THEM TO US
to use in THE local CHURCH
1ST CORINTHIANS 12
ROMANS 12

JESUS SAID I WILL BUILD MY CHURCH

If you wake up tomorrow morning
And find that you have an extra million dollars in your savings account

You could hire a contractor to build your dream house.

The contractor would have to hire labours – both skilled and unskilled
To get your house built

JESUS SAID I WILL BUILD MY CHURCH
WE SHOULD BE HIS LABORERS

1Co_3:9 For we are LABOURERS together with God: ye are God’s husbandry, ye are God’s BUILDING.

Eph_2:21 In whom all the BUILDING fitly framed together groweth unto an holy temple in the Lord:

WE THE MEMBERS OF
GREENBUSH COMMUNITY BAPTIST CHURCH
WE ARE THE CHURCH
BUT
HERE IS AN
ULTRA SERIOUS THOUGHT

THE CHURCH BUILDING
IS THE FIRST IMPRESSION THAT
THE COMMUNITY GETS

for many it is the ONLY impression the drive byes get

THE CHURCH BUILDING
REPRESENTS CHRIST
TO THE OUTSIDE WORLD

WE SHOULD ALL DO OUR PART
BIG OR LITTLE
TO MAKE THIS BUILDING
REPRESENT
WHAT WE THINK OF CHRIST

GREENBUSH COMMUNITY BAPTIST CHURCH
EVERY ONE OF US
AS WELL AS THIS BUILDING
REPRESENTS OUR LORD AND SAVIOUR

WITH THAT THOUGHT

WE NEED TO BE JEHOVAH JESUS’ DOG
LET me tell you what I mean by that

FAITHFUL DOGS –
“OLD SHEEP” [TEAR JERKER OF A SONG]
WAS A FAITHFUL DOG

FAITHFUL DOGS want to make their masters happy
FAITHFUL DOGS LOVE AS A CHILD LOVES
FAITHFUL DOGS will PROTECT THEIR MASTER
FAITHFUL DOGS ARE FOCUSED
FAITHFUL DOGS ARE OBEDIENT

DOGS ARE OBEDIENT
LOTS OF CHRISTIANS AREN’T

GOD tells someone
GO TALK TO THAT PERSON ABOUT ME. OR invite that person to Church.
Then, by our actions
we tell God. “You better do it yourself because I sure aint going to!”

BUT GOD TELLS A DOG
Go bite that guy
and that dog
just ups and bites him

WE should WANT TO BE JESUS’ DOG
WE should WANT TO LAY AT JESUS’ FEET
WE should LOVE HIM NO MATTER WHAT
WE should BE HIS FAITHFUL DOG

I know
Christians are sheep not dogs
but everything else holds true

Mat 16:18
I WILL BUILD MY CHURCH

THERE IS NOTHING MORE IMPORTANT THEN THE CHURCH
THERE IS NOTHING MORE IMPORTANT
THEN
GREENBUSH COMMUNITY BAPTIST CHURCH

THIS CHURCH
IS NOT OURS

WE ARE Laborers together with Jehovah Jesus

Jesus Jehovah PUT US HERE
In this Church
TO BE FAITHFUL TO HIM

THIS IS Jesus’ church
JESUS said
I WILL BUILD MY CHURCH

THE CHURCH IS THE New Testament TABERNACLE,

The Church IS THE
HOLY OF HOLIES IN THIS CHURCH AGE

THIS PULPIT IS THE MERCY SEAT
THIS IS WHERE GOD
MEETS WITH HIS PEOPLE

THERE IS NO SUCH THING AS
A UNIVERSAL CHURCH
ON THIS EARTH
THE UNIVERSAL CHURCH IS IN HEAVEN
it is not here
IT IS NOT ON THE EARTH

PLEASE TURN TO
1ST Timothy 3:15
I want you to follow along with me
Becuase I am about to commit a mortal sin
I am going to change something the Word of God says

But if I tarry long, that thou mayest know how thou oughtest to behave thyself in THE HOUSE OF GOD, which is the church of the living God, the pillar and ground of the truth.

NOW, reread 1ST Timothy 3:15
and substitute
GREENBUSH COMMUNITY BAPTIST
to replace
THE HOUSE OF GOD

JESUS SAID I WILL BUILD MY CHURCH

IF SOMEONE IS NOT RIGHT WITH THEIR LOCAL
independent Bible preaching Church
THEN THEY
ARE NOT RIGHT WITH GOD

JESUS SAID I WILL BUILD MY CHURCH
THE CHURCH SHOULD BE
A PICTURE OF
HEAVEN ON EARTH
THE CHURCH SHOULD CONVICT
THE WORLD OF
SIN, RIGHTEOUSNESS, AND JUDGMENT

JEHOVAH JESUS
Builds His Church THROUGH PREACHING
God blesses his PEOPLE through preaching

THE POWER TO GET THINGS DONE
COMES BY THE
PREACHING OF THE WORD

Rom 10:17
So then faith cometh by hearing, and hearing by the word of God.

Hearing in the above verse is hearing preaching.
Faith comes by hearing the Word of God preached

Isa 55:11
So shall my WORD be that goeth forth out of my mouth: it shall not return unto me VOID, but it shall ACCOMPLISH that which I please, and it shall PROSPER in the thing whereto I sent it.
OUR FAITH INCREASES IN DIRECT PROPORTION TO THE SERMONS WE LISTEN TO
Pastor CAINCROSS said a while back that
GROWING TO MATURITY
IS A SLOW PROCESS
If you asked me to tell you last weeks sermon
I PROBABLY WOULD be unable to do it
But As I SIT AND LISTEN
in Sunday school – Twice on Sunday
Wednesday PRAY MEETING

EVERY TIME someone PREACHES behind this pulpit
I GROW IN FAITH,

READING THE BIBLE
OR A BOOK
IS IMPORTANT – its not an either or thing

BUT
IT IS THE PREACHING THAT
JESUS USES TO BUILD HIS CHURCH

Every time someone PREACHES behind this pulpit, I grow in KNOWLEDGE

Every time someone PREACHES behind this pulpit I get WISDOM

THE CHURCH IS GOD’S GIFT
TO THE WORLD

GREENBUSH COMMUNITY BAPTIST CHURCH IS GOD’S GIFT
TO GREENBUSH AND OSCODA
AND WE NEED TO GET PEOPLE IN HERE TO HEAR THE GOSPEL PREACHED

PASTOR CAINCROSS IS GOD’S MAN
FOR US AND
He is GOD’S man FOR THE COMMUNITY

EVERY MEMBER OF
GREENBUSH COMMUNITY BAPTIST PRAYS FOR PASTOR CAINCROSS
WE ARE THANKFUL FOR HIS PREACHING
WE ARE THANKFUL FOR HIS TEACHING
WE ARE THANKFUL FOR HIS MEEK AND KIND SPIRIT
WE ARE THANKFUL FOR HIS LOVE OF THE SAVIOUR

TO SHOW
OUR SAVIOUR HOW MUCH WE LOVE HIM
AND TO
SUPPORT OUR PASTOR
WE NEED TO GET PEOPLE IN HERE
to hear our pastor PREACH THE GOSPEL

HOW TO DO THAT?
THE NUMBER ONE WAY
IS TO JUST PRAY THEM IN

YOUR NEIGHBORS
THE ONES WHO HATE YOU
as well as those who don’t

PRAY FOR THEM UNTIL THEY FOLLOW YOU TO CHURCH

JESUS SAID
Mat 16:18
And I say also unto thee, That thou art Peter, and upon this rock I will build my church; and the gates of hell shall not prevail against it.

IN CLOSING
JESUS SAID
I WILL BUILD MY CHURCH

ARE YOU A BRICK HE CAN USE
OR ARE YOU A
LACKADAISICAL UNDISCIPLINED CHRISTIAN

ARE YOU HIS AMBASSADOR

JESUS SAID
Luk 9:23
And he said to them all, If any man will come after me, let him DENY HIMSELF, and take up his cross DAILY, and follow me.

DAILY, every morning

but CROSSES GET HEAVY

the cross SEPARATES
FRIENDS
FAMILY
YOU FROM WORLDLY DESIRES

CROSSES BRING PAIN
CROSSES BRING SUFFERING
CROSSES BRING SELF DENIAL
CROSSES CAN BE AN EMBARRASSMENT

AS A RESULT
SOME FOLKS
PROBABLY ALL OF US at one time or another
HAVE STUMBLED UNDER THE BURDEN OF THEIR CROSS
MANY TIMES THEY HAVE FALLEN
IN THE DIRTY dusty STREETS OF LIFE

CROSSES ARE an EMBARRASSMENT

THEN
AFTER FALLING MANY TIMES

and picking that personal cross up again time after time

THE LAST TIME THEY GOT UP
THEY LEFT THEIR CROSS
LYING RIGHT THERE
IN THE FILTHY STREET OF LIFE
AND THEY WENT ON ALONE

IF THAT BE YOU
IF YOU HAVE ABANDONED YOUR CROSS

THEN YOU NEED TO REPENT
YOU NEED TO FIND YOUR
ABANDONED CROSS
AND YOU NEED TO
AGAIN PICK IT UP

JESUS SAID
Rev 3:15 I know thy works, that thou art neither cold nor hot: I would thou wert cold or hot.
Rev 3:16 So then because thou art lukewarm, and neither cold nor hot, I WILL SPUE THEE OUT OF MY MOUTH.

DO YOU UNDERSTAND WHAT JESUS
THE BUILDER OF CHURCHES IS SAYING
JESUS IS SAYING THAT
THOSE WHO ARE LUKEWARM
THEY ARE SPIRITUAL VOMIT

IF HE IS SPEAKING TO YOU
THEN YOU NEED TO REPENT
YOU NEED TO REPENT TONIGHT

Mat 10:38
And he that taketh not his cross, and followeth after me, is not worthy of me.

JESUS SAID
I WILL BUILD MY CHURCH
TONIGHT WILL YOU COMMENT TO BEING HIS LABORER

PERHAPS SOMETHING WAS SAID THAT CONVICTED YOU TO BE MORE FAITHFUL IN SOMETHING YOU ARE NEGLECTING

PERHAPS
YOU NEED TO TAKE GREENBUSH COMMUNITY BAPTIST
MORE SERIOUSLY

Leave a Reply

