Uncategorized

EPHESUS, LESSON 3, 10/23/2013

EPHESUS,  LESSON 3
WEDNESDAY 10/23/2013

Let me explain something to you readers, The capital letters and highlights that follow here are for me when I am teaching.  If it wasn’t so time consuming I would redo them but such is not  the case.

THE 7 CHURCHES OF REVELATION 2 AND 3

These seven Churches represent:

1] Churches at that time
2] Every Church in every Church age, and all seven are with us today
3] There are 7 major events in CHURCH HISTORY and,
These 7 Churches, in chronological order, are the dominate Church in each of the seven Church ages.

THE FIRST CHURCH IS

EPHESUS and it is found in Rev 2:1-7 –

  • APOSTOLIC and the Church runs From
    33 A.D. to 65 A.D.
    THESE DATES ARE Flexible
    NOT LIKE
    TURNING ON A LIGHT
    Sometimes IT IS A SLOW TRANSITION

You can read all about the Ephesian Church age in the book of Acts

THERE HAS BEEN A unique spiritual fight in EVERY Church age
THE FIGHT IN THE EPHESIAN CHURCH AGE WAS FOR THE RESURRECTION.
I got that from Acts

Rev 2:4  Nevertheless I have somewhat against thee, because thou hast left thy first love.

  • WHAT IS THIS FIRST LOVE?

The consensus is that the first love is our fervent love for The saviour – Jesus Christ.

THERE SHOULD BE A
love affair when someone gets saved.

  • Sometime I think we have a too fast salvation  when leading the lost to Christ

Please don’t brand me a heretic

We run to Romans 10:9+10 as fast as we can.
Are you a sinner?  Have you ever lied?  YUP, well then you are a sinner, then – so they wont feel like we are picking on them – we often add, “me too, I am a sinner too.  Just like you.” Baloney, You are saved they are lost, night and day difference, light and darkness.

“Sinners go to Hell”.  look what the Bible says, yup you are going to burn.  Then we show them Romans 6:23 and Revelation 20:14.
Then we tell them, “but you don’t have to go to Hell because Jesus died for your sins.”

Sometimes we just fly through all the above then we take them where we first wanted to take them Romans 10:9+10

Then we get them to bow to bow their heads and pray “the sinners prayer” and we often tell them the words to say.  However If the lost do not understand their position with a holy and just God THEN

It is what I label, MAGIC WORDS and the tongue will never save anyone.  It is a heart thing. So how is your heart dear reader?

Salvation is a heart thing – not a tongue thing

BILLY Graham – BILLY Sunday

When Billy Graham preached thousands would come forward to get saved.  But when brother Graham left I don’t believe too many lives truly changed.  I say that because no one seems to have made any impact for Christ.

Contrast that with Billy Sunday and he is just an example of hundreds just like him.
Billy Sunday preached in the late 1800s and early 1900s.

He was a Hell fire and brimstone preacher and you should google him. 

Billy Sunday would preach and thousands would be saved, After he left town the sin dens would shut down for lack of customers.

The song Chicago tells how Billy Sunday, when leave a town, left it changed.  The song CHICAGO, GOES SOMETHING LIKE THIS:
Chicago I will show you around Chicago Chicago THE TOWN BILLY SUNDAY couldn,t shut down

So why don’t we see peoples lives changed today?

  • Rom 10:9  That if thou shalt confess with thy mouth the Lord Jesus, and shalt believe in thine heart that God hath raised him from the dead, thou shalt be saved.

Rom 10:10  For with the heart man believeth unto righteousness; and with the mouth confession is made unto salvation.
It is a heart thing that’s why

THE LAW

(and we are leaving it out of the gospel message.)
IS A PREREQUISITE

TO HEART SALVATION

Gal 3:24  Wherefore the law was our schoolmaster to bring us unto Christ, that we might be justified by faith.

  • I JUST can’t imagine someone getting saved and not fully loving Jesus

  • I know babies need to grow up

1Pe 2:2  As newborn babes, desire the sincere milk of the word, that ye may grow thereby:

BUT LOVE IS AN EMOTION

  • I fell in love with the Lord Jesus Christ when I was saved.

1Jn 4:19  We love him, because he first loved us.

SALVATION SHOULD BE A LOVE AFFAIR

SOME OF MY PERSONAL TESTIMONY IS that-

I HAD SPENT MY WHOLE LIFE TRYING TO FIGURE OUT ABOUT SALVATION

BUT
I wasn’t saved until I knew I was a sinner going to Hell, and that Hell was where I belonged.

WHEN a I got saved

ALL THINGS BECAME NEW

2Co 5:15  And that he died for all, that they which live should not henceforth live unto themselves, but unto him which died for them, and rose again.
MEMORIZE the above verse

2Co 5:17  “Therefore if any man be in Christ, he is a new creature: old things are passed away; behold, all things are become new.”
YOU SHOULD ALREADY HAVE THE ABOVE VERSE MEMORIZED, IF NOT THEN memorize it also

 WHEN I WAS FIRST SAVED

  • I was Immediately filled with Bible verses.
    I was Catholic and the verses were from the KJV.  I don’t know how that happened, because it was a new thing.
  • A DESIRE TO BE WITH CHRISTIANS
    church  fellowship
  • I QUOTED THE KJV BIBLE  all – the – time

  • I talked about Jesus ALL THE TIME.  I didn’t plan it and I couldn’t help talking about Him to everyone.

People hated it and they became angry and would say
TELL ME WHAT YOU THINK  not what that Bible says”

  • I got saved in Frederic and learned how to serve God there but I left Frederic and returned to the big city.

That one act was SPIRITUAL SUICIDE for me.

I SLOWLY DRIFTED far away from spiritual maturity and I began acting like a
cry baby
ego-manic
teenager
but THROUGH IT ALL – IT was
more like a lovers quarrel then a parting.

NO ONE BUT GOD and me even KNEW

I had heard or read somewhere that
if you are mad at God then just tell Him.  So I told Him and things got worse.

  • THAT IS BAD ADVICE IT IS THE WORST ADVICE EVER
  • If you are mad at God that is SIN
  • IF YOU EVER FIND YOURSELF ANGRY with God, 1st John 1:9 will work but pay attention to our next verse Rev 2:5

Rev 2:4  Nevertheless I have somewhat against thee, because thou hast left thy first love.

IN MY CASE I left my first love behind WHEN I LEFT FREDERIC

LETS Look at the next verse

Rev 2:5  Remember therefore from whence thou art fallen, and repent, and do the first works; or else I will come unto thee quickly, and will remove thy candlestick out of his place, except thou repent.


Lets take the first comment first

Remember therefore from whence thou art fallen

WE GET A LOT WHEN WE GET SAVED:
1] our sins are forgiven
2] our spirit is made alive
3] we get gifts
4] We are made kings and priests
5] We get a guaranteed home in heaven
6] And a whole bunch more

BUT

sometime we get something we may not want – A CROSS

MarK 10:21  Then Jesus beholding him loved him, and said unto him, One thing thou lackest: go thy way, sell whatsoever thou hast, and give to the poor, and thou shalt have treasure in heaven: and come, take up the cross, and follow me.

LukE 9:23  And he said to them all, If any man will come after me, let him deny himself, and take up his cross daily, and follow me.

take up his cross daily:

that is what Jesus our Lord tells us to do

But some have left their cross behind.

WHEN I LEFT FREDERIC I TOOK MY CROSS WITH ME.

BUT AFTER LIVING IN A
ME WORLD AND A CRY BABY
STATE OF
MIND.
ONE MORNING WHEN THINGS WERE VERY DEPRESSING I LEFT MY CROSS BEHIND. 

AND THE JOY WAS GONE

MAYBE SOMEONE HERE

IS BEAT UP

AND GOING THROUGH SOME AWFUL TIMES

AND

PERHAPS NO ONE KNOWS IT BUT YOU

Jesus says,

Remember therefore from whence thou art fallen, and repent

Go back to where you left your cross

Remember therefore from whence thou art fallen, and repent, and
do the first works;

Okay tell me something
Since when is it work to love JESUS

 

That is why I think that the Love that the Ephesian Church left was  soul winning.

Do you remember the great overwhelming love you had when you led that first soul to the cross? I DO.

Johnny Mesinhimer

Johnny was a custodian, a janitor working with me in Grayling Michigan.  I was in my late thirties and he in his early 20s.  I was putting gospel tracts in teachers books one night, we both worked afternoons, when I had a strong inclination to go over to another building where Johnny was working and see if I could get him saved.  I was scared when I want over there.  I didn’t know Johnny very well and he was a young drug taking wild but likable kid. We sat and talked with his radio on with the volume turned way up playing some kind of acid rock ugly stuff that was so popular back in the late ’70s.  I prayed, or I just kind of thought that I couldn’t compete with that radio so he would have to turn it off.  I said or prayed that if he turned it off I would try and give him the gospel.

Johnny did turn it off and I then led my first soul to Christ. Words fail me because that single incident thrilled me beyond description.  My love for our saviour was booming and I still remember to this day singing praises to God as I drove home that night. Johnny wanted to go to Church.  He wanted to get baptized, he wanted the world to know that he was saved so that they also would get saved.

A few months later his wife gave him an ultimatum to either stop his foolishness or she would leave him and take their child with her.  Though Johnny was now a good husband, she was a Catholic who wouldn’t put up with a Baptist for a husband. People are funny, she would put up with the old Johnny but couldn’t live with the now saved I love Jesus one.

Johnny went back to his old drug life and shortly after was murdered.

I miss him.  I think I would have had a good

I AM NO SOUL WINNER. You would think I would be after that but I am not, though I still have a huge desire to be.

JIM McCLEARY, he is my brother-in-law and he is everything I desire to be but aren’t. He is a soul winner deluxe, and my best friend. He will tell ANYONE, ANYTIME, under ANY circumstances that they need Jesus and they need to be saved. That is what we all need to be working towards.  If you don’t have that desire then there is something spiritually wrong with your love for God.  Your love for Jesus is not what it should be. A Bible verse that applies to Jim is Gal 6:14  But God forbid that I should glory, save in the cross of our Lord Jesus Christ, by whom the world is crucified unto me, and I unto the world.

When a Church losses its love for soul winning it will either

  • turn to worldly devices or
  • its candle will go out, Revelation 2:5.
  • BUT we are the Church

Therefore it is our unique individual candle that will go out.

EVERY ONE here CAN win souls.

And if you do you can throw away that bottle of Geritol tonic because you got something so much better.

HOWEVER

regardless if Rev 2:4 is soul winning or not

STILL

Pro 11:30  The fruit of the righteous is a tree of life; and he that winneth souls is wise.

AND
Gal 6:14  But God forbid that I should glory, save in the cross of our Lord Jesus Christ, by whom the world is crucified unto me, and I unto the world.

 

2 thoughts on “EPHESUS, LESSON 3, 10/23/2013

  1. Larry, I just showed Jim your Bible lesson. This is some good stuff. I had to copy it in Word and then printed it. I like the personal stories you put in your lesson. I hope the folks up there appreciate it as much as we do. Thanks again, for all your hard work and study and sharing what God has laid upon your heart. You will be rewarded.

    Like

  2. thank you for sending us your lesson. I just showed it to Jim. I copied in in Word and printed it out for him. This is great! You put your heart and soul in this and you will be rewarded Your personal testimony means a lot. I loved it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

