Uncategorized

CHRISTIAN PHILOSOPHY

I was speaking with my brother-in-law and he was saying how Bill O’Reilly used the phrase “Christian Philosophy”. I think that phrase pretty much sums up the religious attitude for “born again”. Being born again is vital to your future security and the tranquility of America. It is also the answer to the question; why is there so much violence in the world? And therefore it is paramount that everyone knows exactly what this elementary term teaches.

Beware of CHRISTIAN PHILOSOPHY

Colossians 2:8
Beware lest any man spoil you through philosophy and vain deceit, after the tradition of men, after the rudiments of the world, and not after Christ.

From here on this is from a sermon I once delivered. I don’t know if you will be able to understand or like it because it is short sentence ideas that I could expound on. That is the reason for the weird formatting and capital letters. I have lots more I would like to publish if you can get something out of them, maybe let me know your thoughts, like ya or nay.

Jesus said in John 3:3 Verily, verily, I say unto thee, Except a man be BORN AGAIN, he cannot see the kingdom of God.
Joh 3:4 Nicodemus saith unto him, How can a man be born when he is old? can he enter the second time into his mother’s womb, and be born?
Joh 3:5 Jesus answered, Verily, verily, I say unto thee, Except a man be born of water and of the Spirit, he cannot enter into the kingdom of God.
Joh 3:6 That which is born of the flesh is flesh; and that which is born of the Spirit is spirit.
Joh 3:7 Marvel not that I said unto thee, Ye must be BORN AGAIN.

Born Again is not a philosophy that one lives out, and it is not an option. It is a choice and because the Bible teaches that there are only two places that exist in eternity it is the most important command that Jesus gave.

The phrase, born again, is so familiar that it has become trite, but do you know what it means?

Joh 3:3 Jesus answered and said unto him, Verily, verily, I say unto thee, Except a man be BORN AGAIN, he cannot see the kingdom of God.
Joh 3:7 Marvel not that I said unto thee, Ye must be BORN AGAIN.

BORN AGAIN DECIDES WHO IS GOING TO HEAVEN
BORN AGAIN DECIDES WHO IS GOING TO HELL

Luk 16:22 And it came to pass, that the beggar died, and was carried by the angels into Abraham’s bosom: the rich man also died, and was buried;
Luk 16:23 And in hell he lift up his eyes, being in torments, …

Mat 5:29 And if thy right eye offend thee, pluck it out, and cast it from thee: for it is profitable for thee that one of thy members should perish, and not that thy whole body should be cast into hell.

Mat 5:30 And if thy right hand offend thee, cut it off, and cast it from thee: for it is profitable for thee that one of thy members should perish, and not that thy whole body should be cast into hell.

IT’S A BIBLE TRUTH
If your husband
If your wife
If your kids
If your grandma or grandpa
If your friend
If your favorite celebrity
ISN’T BORN AGAIN THEY WILL SPEND ETERNITY IN HELL

Many don’t like and don’t want to hear about hell
They put spiritual fingers in their spiritual ears

LET ME ASK YOU SOMETHING
IS THERE A HELL? OR IS GOD LYING?

TODAY CHURCHES AND TALK SHOWS
Tell us that there are MANY WAYS TO HEAVEN

But they got it backward

Mat 7:13 Enter ye in at the strait gate: for wide is the gate, and broad is the way, that leadeth to destruction, and many there be which go in thereat:
Mat 7:14 Because strait is the gate, and narrow is the way, which leadeth unto life, and few there be that find it.

YOU HEAR
MY GOD IS A GOD OF LOVE
NOT HATE AND WRATH
GOD WILL NEVER SEND ME THERE

GO AHEAD AND
CALL GOD A LIAR
CALL GOD HATEFUL
THEN DIE UNREPENTANT AND SEE WHAT HAPPENS

I’m 73
I was Born again in 1978 35 years ago

I was raised catholic: named after a Jesuit priest

My dad often worked 2 jobs to put me through
Catholic schools: Holy Name in Birmingham Michigan.

When growing up all my relatives were staunch 100% Catholic
THAT MEANS
They loved Drinking, Gambling And Smoking

They never USED THE LORD’S NAME IN VAIN

MY DAD, would drink a pint of whiskey every day and yet I never seen him stager, or slur his words. He NEVER WAS VISIBLY DRUNK
He NEVER MISSED WORK
He NEVER MISTREATED MY MOTHER
And he NEVER MISTREATED US KIDS

However it WAS ONE CONSTANT PARTY

BY THE TIME I WAS 13 I WAS
DRINKING GAMBLING AND SMOKING.

By the TIME I WAS 15 I WAS KIND OF ON MY OWN,
AND BEFORE I WAS 19 I HAD HITCHHIKED TO FLORIDA, CHICAGO, AND ARIZONA

“It is not that I was so bad, although I did almost everything: having hitchhiked across the country, been in a few jails, and even taken a few pills. I could tell joke upon joke with a very vivid imagination for foul language, and after many years of training I could drink with the best.”

Because My catholic education taught me the holiness of God, and the sinfulness of man. I knew I wasn’t right with God. The Catholic church could convict me of sin however it could not tell me how to be BORN AGAIN.

Many times I would be lonesome, spiritually lonesome. Kind of like empty. I would look at my life. I wouldn’t compare it with anything. I would just think, “there has to be something more”. I don’t want to lay on my death bed, an old man, look back and say – “it was for nothing”. Then I would try another experience, LIKE RACING CARS OR MOTORCYCLES. Sometimes I tried God.
However, nothing worked to bring me real peace,
I needed to be born again

This is what born again means

Gen 1:26 And God said, Let us make man in our image, after our likeness: …

God is three persons in one being
FATHER – SON – HOLY GHOST

God created man in three distinct parts
BODY SOUL SPIRIT

1Th 5:23 And the very God of peace sanctify you wholly; and I pray God your whole SPIRIT and SOUL and BODY be preserved blameless unto the coming of our Lord Jesus Christ.

Heb 4:12 For the word of God is quick, and powerful, and sharper than any twoedged sword, piercing even to the dividing asunder of SOUL and SPIRIT, and of the JOINTS and MARROW, and is a discerner of the thoughts and intents of the heart.

THIS IS HOW God MADE MAN

Gen 2:7 And the LORD God formed man of the dust of the ground [BODY], and breathed into his nostrils the breath of life [SPIRIT]; and man became a living soul.

BODY + SPIRIT = a living soul

God put Adam in the garden: beautiful rivers lakes flowers
It was breathtaking
God said This is all yours
You have the title deed
Be happy and enjoy what I have given to you
BUT

LISTEN, Adam, this is important
Don’t eat of that tree over there
Don’t do it ADAM
It’s poison. it will kill you.
You eat of that fruit and it’s over

Gen 2:15 And the LORD God took the man, and put him into the garden of Eden to dress it and to keep it.
Gen 2:16 And the LORD God commanded the man, saying, Of every tree of the garden thou mayest freely eat:
Gen 2:17 But of the tree of the knowledge of good and evil, thou shalt not eat of it: for in the day that thou eatest thereof thou shalt surely die.

We need a word definition on death

Die doesn’t mean ceasing to exist
It means seperated

EVE ATE
SHE DIDN’T DIE
ADAM ATE HE DIDN’T DIE

HIS HEART KEPT BEATING
BUT
ADAM AND EVE DIED SPIRITUALLY
THAT MEANS THEY
LOST COMMUNICATION WITH GOD

SOUL AND SPIRIT BECAME STUCK, SUPER GLUED, TOGETHER.

ONLY GOD CAN SEPARATE THEM
NOT GOOD WORKS

1 Corinthians 2:14
1Co 2:14 But the natural man receiveth not the things of the Spirit of God: for they are foolishness unto him: neither can he know them, because they are spiritually discerned.

The natural man in the above verse is the natural man, he hasn’t been born again.

1Co 2:11 For what man knoweth the things of a man, save the spirit of man which is in him? even so the things of God knoweth no man, but the Spirit of God.

“I read a lot and one thing I knew Jesus wanted was bold unashamed men: Men to stand and spiritually fight for Him. I was also aware that Jesus said, be hot or cold, but do not be lukewarm or I will spew the out of my mouth [Rev 3:15,16]. So I would get hot. I would stop drinking and cursing, and this and that. Then for a short time I would witness and praise God.

I really would feel great. Then my old self would gradually sneak back a little at a time and there I would be right back to my sinful self.

2Co 7:10 For godly sorrow worketh repentance to salvation not to be repented of: but the sorrow of the world worketh death.

Rom 7:18 For I know that in me (that is, in my flesh,) dwelleth no good thing: for to will is present with me; but how to perform that which is good I find not.

Rom 7:24 O wretched man that I am! who shall deliver me from the body of this death?

GOD BEGAN TO WORK IN my wife PATTY AND ME.
And for us moving TO FREDERIC Michigan was critical.

We lived close to a BAPTIST CHURCH
And WE STARTED ATTENDING SPORADICALLY

They were NICE PEOPLE

My SPIRIT, though dead to God liked this church
But my BODY AND SOUL DIDN’T DIDN’T FEEL COMFORTABLE

Spirit says
“What’s wrong with you. You need religion these are good folks.”

These folks are going up
Your going to hell

Heaven will be a 24 HOUR PRAYER, PREACHING and PRAISING God.
I LOVED MY LIFE STYLE \DRINKING, DRIVING FAST,
DOING CRAZY THINGS
MY FLESH STILL DOES TODAY

BUT MY DEAD SPIRIT is telling me
THAT I NEEDED RELIGION

I had GOTTEN HOLD OF HEB 11:6 YEARS AGO

Heb 11:6 But without faith it is impossible to please him: for he that cometh to God must believe that he is, and that he is a rewarder of them that diligently seek him.

I was diligently seeking Him, in the wrong way, yes, but still I wanted God’s acceptance AND I HELD ON TO HEB 11:6, BEGGING GOD TO HONOR THAT VERSE

The preacher stopped by and led Patty and me to Jesus.

We knelt
We bowed our heads
We prayed the sinners prayer

I wanted to be saved

I had done all this before
Nothing then
Nothing now

BECAUSE:
“What I was doing was working to please God or trying to win His favor. Oh I wanted Jesus; I knew what I had read, how Jesus changes lives and gives life. I wanted this, but on my terms. I wanted to buy Jesus with good works, instead of Him buying me.”

I was still spiritually dead as the proverbial doornail.
I still loved my sins
I still disliked church
I still knew I wasn’t right

Then Tom, my life long friend came up for a visit

We went out DRINKING DRIVING
I PREACHED TO HIM

HE SAID, “Larry if I believed like you say you believe I wouldn’t be living my life like you are living your life.”

THAT SHUT ME UP

2Co 7:10 For godly sorrow worketh repentance to salvation not to be repented of: but the sorrow of the world worketh death.

Rom 7:18 For I know that in me (that is, in my flesh,) dwelleth no good thing: for to will is present with me; but how to perform that which is good I find not.

Rom 7:24 O wretched man that I am! who shall deliver me from the body of this death?

MY BEDROOM CONVERSION

I knew I was condemned to a hell I deserved
I gave my heart to Jesus
I gave all of me to Him
MY DRINKING
My desires
Everything

I PRAYED SOMETHING LIKE THIS
I DON’T KNOW WHY I CAN’T GET ANY POWER OVER SIN BUT I KNOW YOU ARE THE ANSWER TO THE WORLD’S PROBLEMS: SIN, RIGHTEOUSNESS AND JUDGMENT TO COME.
I gave Him all of me, not what I thought was good but everything the good, the bad, and the ugly. I took Him as my Lord and Saviour.

THEN
I made a PROMISE AND A COMMITMENT
I PROMISED to never stop drinking
And I made a COMMITMENT TO PREACH CHRIST

I WAS INSTANTLY BORN AGAIN AND EXPERIENCED THIS BIBLE VERSE
2Co 5:17 Therefore if any man be in Christ, he is a new creature: old things are passed away; behold, all things are become new.

I HAD FREEDOM
I HAD NO GUILT
I HAD A LIVING SPIRIT MY OWN AND GOD’S
I HAD A CONVICTION AND LOVE FOR CHURCH
I LOVED BEING WITH CHRISTIANS
I LOVED READING AND STUDING THE BIBLE
BUT
I DIDN’T HAVE POWER OVER THE FLESH
I KEPT DRINKING
AND KEPT PREACHING/WITNESSING WITH A BEER BOTTLE IN MY HAND

THEN

My sister-in-law Mary
Wanted me to ask my pastor if he would BAPTIZE her

I TALKED WITH THE PASTOR about baptizing both Mary and me as I had not been baptized since I was born again.
He said he would baptize me but NOT MARY because Baptism and church membership goes hand in hand

WHY WOULD ANYONE WANT TO BE BAPTIZED AND NOT GO TO CHURCH????

Act 2:41 Then they that gladly received his word were baptized: and the same day there were added unto them about three thousand souls.

BAPTISM IS THE FIRST ACT OF OBEDIENCE

JUST BECAUSE BAPTISM IS NOT NEEDED TO BE SAVED DOESN’T MEAN IT ISN’T IMPORTANT

ANABAPTISTS THIS IS WHERE WE TRACE OUR LINAGE THROUGH they thought it
IMPORTANT ENOUGH TO DIE FOR and many were indeed MARTYRED by drowning

IF YOU ARE NOT BAPTIZED
YOU NEED TO BE
YOU ARE NOT RIGHT WITH GOD.

I SET UP A DATE TO BE BAPTIZED

THEN
I didn’t want to be Hypocritical so
I WENT TO THE PASTOR AND CONFESSED MY DRINKING

He SAID THE SAME Holy Spirit of God that lived in him also lived in me, and he would just let the Holy Spirit of God take care of the matter.
AFTER MY BAPTISM
I STOPPED MY DRINKING, the habit, the addiction was gone.

Joh 3:3 Jesus answered and said unto him, Verily, verily, I say unto thee, Except a man be born again, he cannot see the kingdom of God.
Joh 3:7 Marvel not that I said unto thee, Ye must be born again.

BORN AGAIN DECIDES WHO IS GOING UP
BORN AGAIN DECIDES WHO IS GOING TO HELL

IF YOU ARE LIKE I WAS

NO CONVICTION OVER MANY SINS
NO POWER OVER THE FLESH
NO DESIRE TO BE IN CHURCH
NO DESIRE TO READ THE BIBLE
NO DESIRE TO PRAY
NO DESIRE TO PLEASE GOD
NO DESIRE TO LOVE YOUR ENEMIES
NO DESIRE TO FORGIVE
NO HATRED FOR SIN

THEN YOU ARE NOT BORN AGAIN

BORN AGAIN IS A SECOND BIRTH ONLY IT’S SPIRITUAL

YOU MUST HAVE A TIME THAT YOU KNOW YOU ACCEPTED, TRULY ACCEPTED CHRIST

2Co 5:17 Therefore if any man be in Christ, he is a new creature: old things are passed away; behold, all things are become new.

4 thoughts on “CHRISTIAN PHILOSOPHY

  1. I printed all of this out for Jim and I to read – thank you for caring for all of us by taking the time to share these important truths. We love you Larry.

    Like

  2. Pastor Caincross directed me to your blog. I love the story of God changing your heart and bringing you to true repentance and faith. I encourage you to continue to study the new birth. It is one of the great and vital doctrines of God’s Word.

    Like

  3. Thank you for the post. It is nice to be able to see others that seem to believe similarly to myself. I also have a blog (which is how I found yours) and it is dedicated to young Christians; starting at salvation and ending in the judgment. I stress the salvation and then go a step further into the development of Christians so that they can go out and win their friends as well. I urge you to check it out. It is http://christiansareus.wordpress.com. Your feedback would be appreciated. You can also like my facebook page on that site and get the behind the scenes look at Christians Are Us. I will continue to read your posts. Thank you again.
    Mark Davis

    Like

Leave a Reply

